Holland Amateur Radio Club Membership Meeting

December 14th, 2010

SOCIAL PROGRAM

Introductions, welcome and opening remarks:

Presentation: there was no Presentation to allow sufficient time to conduct annual elections.

Refreshments: Coffee and homemade Christmas cookies.

50/50 Raffle:

- Winner of \$15.00 KD8NPC Nate Silva
- VHS Tape KC8RQT Chris Dandrea
- LED flashlight AC8GM Mike Avery
- LED flashlight KC8KE Jim Lamberts
- Yaesu ball cap WD8NHA Mike Cole
- Kenwood tote bag KF8EV Ed Heyboer
- Kenwood tote bag KB8IDQ Jim Hays

General Announcements:

The Board of Directors recommended continuing the current policy of club event cancellation to coincide with local closings, and to notify members of closing by announcements on TV, radio, Yahoo Group, website and repeater. This policy was supported by the membership

As presented to the club over the past several months, the Ken Groom ZR5AAD Technical and Training Center, or "The Clubhouse" as it has been known in recent years has been vacated and is now closed due to the recent damage to the roof and deterioration of the chimney. This terminates our lease obligations with the City of Holland and the utility companies. Club radio equipment and other assets will be stored by Jim Lamberts KC8KE and Dave Lamer WA8RSA.

Beginning January, 2011 meetings will be at the American Red Cross of Ottawa County. A map of this location is posted on the club website www.hollandarc.org

Also beginning in January, 2011 meetings will move to Mondays. The Board of Directors will meet the first Monday of the month, and the Membership Meeting will be the second Monday. Start times remain at 7:00pm

A new Holland Amateur Radio Club photo CD, containing over 800 photos of members spanning several decades, is available for a \$5.00 donation to the club. These will be available at Membership Meetings.

Thanks to Ivan Dewitt K8EMU for organizing and leading the first year of amateur radio service to Holland's annual Parade of Lights. Also, a special "Thank You!" to Ross Flamboe KD8MGM for filling in for an ailing John Seidelmann WD8BWK at the last possible moment.

The Board recommended a new Dues structure, with a single membership dues to remain at \$20.00 for a calendar year (January through December) and adding a new Family membership for an additional fee of \$10.00 for a family member or spouse for the same calendar year.

Skywarn Classes for Ottawa County will be offered in March, 2011. We will publish dates when they are announced.

We will be publishing a new Directory in 2011. Please fill in a Membership Form when you renew to be sure that your information is up-to-date, or email Drew Robinson N8UXP drew545@charter.net with any changes.

When you renew your ARRL membership, please do so through our club. Your cost is the same, but the club receives a rebate for each renewal processed. Make your check payable to HARC, and send the check **and your ARRL Renewal Form** to our Treasurer.

Sympathy:

The Holland Amateur Radio Club wished to express its deepest sympathy to Charlie Gregory N8QEM and Steve Vander Hill N8UJD for their recent losses.

Vice-President:

Jim, KC8KE is still soliciting and accepting nominations for the Ham of the Year recognition award, to be presented in January, 2011.

Treasurer:

HARC realized a \$2,133.53 net income from the Great Lakes Superswap After transferring funds to the Swap Account to bring the account to \$2,500.00, the remaining was added to the General Fund. We also realized additional income from the Auction of equipment from the estate of Hollis Roell W8FIZ. Income, Expenses and Balances are as follow:

Income	\$2,133.53 \$533.00	Great Lakes Superswap Auction of equipment
Expenses	\$228.30	General expenses (does not include last SEMCO bill)
Balances	\$2,500.00 \$2,651.27	Swap Fund General Fund

Ken Perry N8AAE moved for acceptance of the Treasurer's Report as read, supported by Hank Dinkelmann KA8COB, motion carried.

Secretary:

Jim Heyl N8QMD, Holland Amateur Radio Club website <u>www.hollandarc.org</u> has been revised, refreshed and sports a new look.

Education: Ed Heyboer KF8EV Classes scheduled for 2011

January 11, 2011 – CW Class

January 12, 2011 – Technician License Class January 13, 2011 – General License Class

Kudos to Tom Bosscher K8TB for his leadership in the recent Extra Class License class. To date, every student who has taken the test has passed and upgraded, with only three students left who have not taken the exam.

BUSINESS

Call to Order: 8:00pm.

30 paid members were in attendance.

President:

Megan, WO0MEG announced that Rick Elushik N8GGO and Dave Lamer WA8RSA had volunteered to be the Elections Committee. Tom Bosscher K8TB moved that these individuals be approved as Election Committee, the motion was supported and the membership affirmed the proposal by a show of hands.

ELECTIONS

Quorum Present:

There are 75 paid members according to the Treasurer's records. Club by-laws require that a one-third (1/3) of these members be present to conduct Club business and elections. With 30 paid members in attendance, a sufficient number was present for the Elections to proceed.

Election of President:

Megan Heyl WO0MEG and Chuck Rich W8GCW were nominated. Megan received 23 votes by secret ballot, and Chuck received 6 votes by secret ballot. Megan was elected as President for 2011.

Election of Vice-President:

Phil Van Huis K8PVH, unopposed, was elected by show of hands.

Election of Secretary:

Jim Heyl N8QMD, unopposed, was elected by show of hands.

Election of Treasurer:

Jim Lamberts KC8KE, unopposed, was elected by show of hands.

Nomination and Approval of Standing Committees:

Four Standing Committees are provided for in the club by-laws. The following members were nominated to serve as our 2011 Committee Chairs, and each appointment was approved by a show of hands.

The Holland Amateur Radio Club 2011 Board of Directors

Executive Officers:

President: Megan Heyl WO0MEG **Vice-President:** Phil Van Huis K8PVH

Secretary: Jim Heyl N8QMD **Treasurer:** Jim Lamberts KC8KE

Standing Committees:

Club Station Committee: Dave Lamer WA8RSA Education Committee: Ed Heyboer KF8EV Emergency Committee: Steve Vander Hill N8UJD

Buildings and Facilities Committee: Hank Dinkelmann KA8COB

ELECTIONS CLOSED

Old Business: There was no old business to be discussed.

New Business: There was no new business brought before the club

Adjourned: 8:30 pm Respectfully submitted Jim Heyl, N8QMD, Secretary secretary@hollandarc.org

Please contact the Secretary with comments or corrections.